Pagan Living

Cold Tea – Recipe

There’s so many things that are annoying, but nothing is worse than a persistent cold. Generally speaking, cold tea recipes tend to be the same across the board with some tweaking here and there. It’s pretty simple:

Equal parts (by weight) of Yarrow flower, Elderberry, and Spearmint.

0

This is from my new order at the start of fall. I order from not the herb store located in thorny mountains but rather one by the bay, for a few reasons which I can get into another time. At the end of the day, it doesn’t matter where you get yours from.

IMG_4572

Pare out the weight with your jar, and add the herbs. I usually save the Elderberry for last because it weighs more. If you aren’t using a scale and rather want to eyeball it, you’ll end up with 3/4 of the spearmint and yarrow and 1/4 of the Elderberry.

IMG_4574

Mix it up, and voila! You’ve got your very own cold tea! Keep it in an airtight container or paper bag if that’s your preference. I keep all my herbs in the same area, so I use jars to not let the odors mingle.

To brew, boil some water in your kettle. Fill up your tea ball or bag with a good tablespoon or two of the tea (depending on how you like your flavors). Infuse in your cup for about ten minutes. Sweeten with local honey or some elderberry syrup for an extra punch of protection! Remove the ball and enjoy.

 

Leave a comment